A Better Mousetrap

by

Don’t know if I can 55 this, but it’s pretty good for a half hour’s writing!


As soon as I welded the ON button onto the little black box that housed my time machine, a version of me from an alternate timeline appeared.

“I’ll take that,” he said, pointing a gun at me.  I handed over the machine.  “You inferior versions of me never see that coming.”  He shook his head, opening a backpack containing dozens of black boxes.  “Did none of you actually read science fiction as a kid?”

That’s when I pressed the button on my belt.  The black box glowed blue and the alterna-me holding it disintegrated into dust.  I swept the dust up and added it to the pile behind me.  “Did none of you double-major in psychology?” I asked, welding the ON button onto another box.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “A Better Mousetrap”

  1. Jourdan Cameron Says:

    Hey, excellent work!

  2. gryfft Says:

    Wh- I- Who do you think you are?!

    A TIME TRAVEL STORY?!

  3. aricollins Says:

    Haha, thought that might bring ol’ Time Travel Rob out of the woodw*rk.

  4. aricollins Says:

    And thanks, Jourdan!

Leave a Reply

