Nightjail Update

by

Only 10 words over or so.  And much better.  Usually the second ending I come up with is way better than the first.

Nightjail

by Ari Collins

When I was little I dreamt a man made of lava gathered all my recurring nightmares and trapped them in a jail.  He said he’d guard them forever.  I had no bad dreams until the night of my high school graduation.

That night I dreamt the lava man returned.  “I wasn’t running a jail,” he said, “but a school. Tonight is graduation.”  He laughed billowing ash.

Leave a Reply

