Trying to get this down to 55.

by

It’s 9 over right now. 😦

“You’re short on your register again, Nessa?” I asked.  “Schulman’s gonna kill you…  Okay, here’s what I do.  Take a bathroom break, palm a twenty from your pocket, and slip it into the register.”

“Wow, lame,” she giggled.  “You’ve been putting your own money in?”

I mumbled, “I don’t like being yelled at.”

It was no vindication when she got fired.  I liked Nessa.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Trying to get this down to 55.”

  1. Sebatinsky Says:

    Got it down to 60:

    “Your register’s short again, Nessa? Schulman’s gonna kill you! Okay, here’s what I do. Take a bathroom break, palm a twenty from your pocket, and slip it into the register.”

    “Wow, lame,” she giggled. “You’ve been putting your own money in?”

    I mumbled, “I don’t like being yelled at.”

    It was no vindication when she got fired. I liked Nessa.

  2. aricollins Says:

    Problem with that is you don’t have a person speaking the first paragraph. I’d much prefer to have an “I said,” in there. Still, “Your register’s short again” (or “Short on your register again”) is an improvement of a word.

    Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

