A Literary Dream

by

So I dreamt last night that there was a new novel by Joyce Carol Oates.  Which is odd, considering I’ve never read anything by her.  I’m thinking maybe my dream confused her with James Joyce.  Anyway, her book, which was called something like “My Words”, was a big postmodern gimmick.  The idea was to write a book in which not a single sentence was a full grammatical sentence.  That was what the gimmick was stated to be in the dream, but the actual sentences, upon waking and remembering, were more like the sentences from the various stream-of-consciousness posts we’ve put up here at Air Theremin.  (Here, here, here, and an illustrated version here.)  Unfortunately, I don’t entirely remember the sentences, though I did upon waking.  I oughtta keep a notebook and pen by my bedside for next time something like this happens, because there have definitely been such dreams before.

So in the dream, I was reading the book in a Barnes and Noble, and I was delighted at how Oates had crafted her sentences so that individually they didn’t make sense but together there was a pattern and even a story.  And then I read some reviews that were negative, and made me feel bad for liking the book, but whatever.  I went to tell Jackson, and he had been looking for me to tell me about it, so we talked about it.  Then I repeated the process with Gryfft with the same results.  Then I woke up.

Cool dream.

Oh, and this all reminds me of another dream I had a few years ago, in which I invented a word.  In that dream, there was a word someone used that I didn’t understand: “sepcite”.  I wandered in the dream until I found someone who could explain it to me.  It meant “a node of information on a vast network”.  I still intend to use that word in my writing somewhere, but haven’t found the right place.  It would be fun to play with it and make the word mean a dream as a node of information on some kind of mass-consciousness dream network.

An idea for another (non-existent) time.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

