I’ve always wanted to:

by

Write a story in one sentence, using nested parentheses. Probably too gimmicky, though.

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “I’ve always wanted to:”

  1. deathbychiasmus Says:

    Hey, what if we had a longest sentence contest? We tell a story together, and each sentence must be longer than the one before it. Or, I dunno, something like that. I’m just thinking out loud here. Writing long long long sentences does sound like fun.

  2. gryfft Says:

    I am pretending to be Charles Dickens, right now, at this very moment, in my chair with my laughable haircut, my tattered pride and shattered mind; for you see, in the mind of the sinner, all things are equal, and any place may be heaven, for heaven is in one’s perception of a place, and Hell might be made Heaven by one’s perceptions being altered- at least, that’s how I remember Milton telling it, though I must admit my own memory may be faulty (which is ironic, because you could say that through the flaws in myself I am projecting my own understanding, values, and cultural gestalt onto Paradise Lost, a postmodern work before there were postmodern works (a concept I hold close to my heart- for what is truly new under the sun, asks the Lord, but for obfuscation and treachery ne’er truly renewed but stagnating only into deeper and deeper deception (and the concept of deception is interesting here, for Satan, prince of liars, told the biggest lie to himself- that he might himself get used to the idea of never seeing Heaven or God, a feat not unimpressive for an Angel whose very existence was contingent upon his purpose as an adorer of the King of Hosts, through whose infinite mercy Lucifer’s allowed to suffer eternally (ha, mercy. )))

  3. gryfft Says:

    I would win.

  4. deathbychiasmus Says:

    You would win. Dang, son.

  5. annoying Says:

    My brothers and I did something akin to this when we were kids. We would tell a story one word at a time, each person saying one word in a set order. Yeah, I know, it’s not a longest sentence contest, but I think it’s got similarities.

Leave a Reply

