Blatant Plagiarism

by

I wanted to see what would happen if I tried writing something that I really didn’t agree with. Something that, honestly, didn’t really resonate with me or my beliefs. No offense.

So, this is what I did. Black parts are mine, red parts are stolen from here.

 

My name is Sarah 18293. And there’s something about me that I can never tell anyone.

It used to be normal. It used to be accepted. Now I’m a fugitive, running from the law. In the year 2525 the law was passed that made me a criminal. So now I run and hide and scrounge. One day they will catch me and my half-life will be over. I’m a Christian. 

My parents used to tell me stories every night- sometimes, a story from the Book, tales of strange men and women dying long ago, so that I might have hope. And other times, they’d tell me about how it used to be, outdoor celebrations and parties and the solemn joy of Gatherings and Services and Weddings.

That’s how it used to be. Before the Administration. And my parents used to tell me how it was, before they disappeared.

They’d run the story in the papers the next day, about how a man had been found with contraband on his person, a single tiny wooden cross not two inches tall. He’d been found guilty of Deviation, Mental Contamination, and Marriage. He was deemed “incapable of re-education” and “a threat to the mindpool.” He was executed before the sun had risen.

He was my father. The day I’d read the newspaper article, I’d bitten my lip- bitten it so hard I could taste blood. I couldn’t afford to cry in public, especially not over the death of a Deviant. But mentally, I was adding his name to the end of a long list my mother had made me memorize before I turned seven years old. Saint Justin of Block 18392, martyr. The question was, how long could I make it without the Mark? My father had failed a simple contraband check- what was I going to do when, inevitably, they Scanned me?

The answer was simple.

I would pray.

 

(If you don’t like it, JD, I’ll take it down. Just wanted to see what’d happen if I doodled around with such a concept.)

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Blatant Plagiarism”

  1. deathbychiasmus Says:

    Wow. That did a really good job of getting inside a different perspective and working with some difficult base material. This is good writing–I’m impressed!

  2. aricollins Says:

    Ditto that.

  3. aricollins Says:

    Also, this is what happens when I leave you alone at night.

  4. J.D. Ray Says:

    WOW! I can’t believe it; I inspired someone. That was nicely integrated. I don’t mind this. You give me credit and point to where the original can be found, which is enough for me to not consider it plagiarism.

    I always pictured the character as being male, but it’s never stated, so don’t worry about changing that. I like your expansion on my idea; it has some good SF elements.

    I wrote the story in response to the TABOO theme. I wanted to come up with something that wasn’t a present-day taboo. And, because I’m a Christian, I thought that would be a good place to start.

  5. annoying Says:

    I’m reminded of this.

  6. J.D. Ray Says:

    Sorry if my other post was a little scattered. I’m not sure this one will be much better, to be honest. I was just pleasantly surprised that someone saw something I wrote and decided to expand it. I have this bad habit of underestimating the value of my writing.

    I checked the comments on my story. Man, some of them are harsh. It’s fiction. And there was a reason I used the year 2525; well, a couple actually, but that’s beside the point. The reason I’m referring to here is that I wanted to make it a far-future story. Christianity becoming illegal may not be likely to happen any time soon, but it theoretically could happen sometime.

    One of the complaints was, ‘it’s been done’, to which I’d want of respond, ‘there is nothing new under the sun. 😉 ‘ (Ecc. 1:9 NIV) (smiley added)

    Another comment was, ‘nobody’s trying to wipe out Christians; we’re not like you.’ There are a couple things I’d like to say to that: 1) look at history; Christianity (or perhaps I should use Judeo-Christianity) has been oppressed in the past, it’s not completely unreasonable that it could be in the future 2) most Christians don’t try to be ‘wipe out’ anybody. Point two is mitigated by ‘not all Christians are like this’, but this seems to assume that I am like that, and I’m not. Yes, I do believe that certain things are sins, but I also believe that God forgives, and that ‘all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God’ (Rom. 3:23 NIV) (emphasis added). That includes me.

    Another thing I believe is that anybody who preaches hate isn’t preaching God. There are a lot of loud ‘Christians’ out there who preach the hate of various groups. I don’t think any of them are right. Something I’ve heard often is, “God hates the sin, not the sinner.”

    And, just to preempt the ‘judge not’ argument, keep reading. Matt. 7:2 (NIV) ‘for in the same way you judge others, you will be judged’. I take this to mean judge fairly, not do not judge at all.

    Sorry if this sounds like a rant. I don’t mean it that way, but don’t know how to change it right now to fix that. I’ll probably think of something after I post.

Leave a Reply

